Telegram is a messenger that has a large number of customization settings and features, and this fact attracts many users to it. However, there is also a setting that cannot be disabled at all, and that setting is named the Telegram account self-destruction feature. Actually, Telegram makes a lot of focus on self-destruction features (like in the case with secret chats). And this step-by-step guide will provide you with more information about this feature and instructions on how to reconfigure it.
So, what is essentially the Telegram account self-destruction feature? By default, all Telegram (that haven’t reconfigured this setting) accounts get self-destructed if their owners don’t access the accounts within 6 months. This feature cannot be disabled, and Telegram claims that it has been done in order to protect the account owners. Yet, it can reconfigured for a longer or a shorter term of self-destruction, and this step-by-step guide will demonstrate you how to do it.
Before you will be able to configure Telegram account self-destruction, you should launch this app
- Start the entire process by clicking on the icon of Telegram on your smartphone.
- Once you have accessed the app, you should launch the application’s menu. You can do that by tapping on the three-lined menu button, placed in the left-upper part of the screen. Do it.
After accessing your Telegram inbox, prompt a left-side menu by clicking on this button
- After you have triggered a menu of the application and got to see it on the left side, you need to select “Settings” among other options in this menu.
At this point, you can click on “Settings” in order to configure the settings of Telegram account self-destruction
- After that action, you will get to see the page of the settings of your Telegram account. There, you need to tap on “Privacy and Security” under “Settings.”
The feature of Telegram account self-destruction can be configured on the page of privacy and security settings
- Now, you have got to see the page where you can configure this setting. In particular, you need to look at “If you are away for” under “Account self-destructs.” Then, you should click on “6 months.”
Click here in order to change the period when the account must be self-destructed – this feature cannot be disabled
- After that, you will get to see a popup window. There, you can configure other settings for self-destruct of your account: 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, and 1 year. You can choose any of it simply by tapping on a particular option.
If you want to protect yourself from an accidental loss of your account, select “one year” here
- Now, you will notice that the settings of your account self-destruct have been changed. This way, it can be reconfigured anytime.
Now, you can see that a new setting has been applied to this feature
In addition to that, we also recommend you to look at other guides for Telegram here.