Privacy is a crucial matter on any social network or messenger, and, thus, you should pay extra attention to this kind of settings. WhatsApp provides all the users with quite a large number of settings regarding this issue, and our step-by-step guide will demonstrate you how to configure WhatsApp privacy settings. Though, you should keep in mind that if you turn off certain settings, you also won’t be able to see that information about other users (such as “Last Seen,” for example). All in all, stick to the guidelines!
Run this app in order to get to configure WhatsApp privacy settings
- The first thing you should do in order to configure these settings is finding the icon of this messenger on your smartphone and clicking on it. That will run the application.
Click on this item in order to launch a pop-up menu of settings of this application
- Once the app has been launched, you will see the window with your conversations there. In the right-upper part of that window, there is a menu button – you should give a click to it.
Now, you need to click on the “Settings” menu item
- After triggering a pop-up menu, you should select “Settings” out of other menu options there.
The next step of yours must be tapping on this section of your settings
- On the page of your account’s settings, you need to tap on “Account” in order to configure your privacy settings.
This section is the place where you can configure WhatsApp privacy settings
- Then, you will see various settings on the next page. You need to tap on the “Privacy” option, which is placed at the top.
So, this page allows you to configure WhatsApp privacy settings with ease
- Now, you have just accessed the page where you can configure the privacy settings. There are five settings: last seen, profile photo, about, status, and live location.
Here you can specify who of the contacts can see when you were online the last time – if you turn it off, you won’t be able to see when the other users were last time online either
- Begin with the “Last Seen” setting. Tap on it and decide who can see it: everyone, my contacts, or nobody. Keep in mind that if you disable it, you won’t be able to see when the other users were online last time.
This setting allows you to configure who can see “About” of you (“Available,” Busy,” etc.)
- Then, go to the “About” setting and specify one of the following options: everyone, my contacts, or nobody. Simply tap in order to choose an option.
You should also specify with whom you want to share your status updates
- Then, go to the “Status” privacy section and specify one of the following: my contacts (can see it), my contact except…, only share with… Specify the users with whom you want to share status or leave it by default.
After all, the settings of the live location can be configured if you have enabled and ever shared it
- After all, you can specify who can see your profile photo and live location, if you turned on the latter.
More WhatsApp guides can be found on this page.